Last week we announced that we sold key technology assets to Dropbox
. For you as a user or customer, this has certainly raised some questions, which we would like to answer in detail here.What Will Happen to Boxcryptor?
We will continue to support our users and customers according to the terms of their existing contracts. Boxcryptor will be available to all existing users, on all platforms and with all previously supported cloud providers. We will provide critical security updates,
Existing customers can still download Boxcryptor, for example to add a new device. If there is a problem, our customer support is still available. However, as of last week, it is no longer possible to create new accounts or purchase new licenses.What Will Happen to Secomba GmbH?
Secomba GmbH will continue to exist and will fulfill customer contracts until the licenses of our customers are expired. Our existing customers will remain with the German Secomba GmbH with the same shareholders as in the past 10 years. No contracts, customer data or keys will be migrated to Dropbox, all data will remain in our German data centers.What Happens to Boxcryptor Users?
Boxcryptor Free users have a cancellation period of one month to the end of the month according to our terms and conditions. These users will soon receive the cancellation of their free license via email. All free licenses will be cancelled by 01/31/2023. Customers who have one of our paid subscriptions - Boxcryptor Personal, Business, Company and Enterprise - will also receive an email with a notice of termination at the end of the respective contract period, stating the last day of use.
Boxcryptor Company and Enterprise customers whose license expires before February 28, 2023, will automatically receive a termination notice with a no-cost extension until that date. This is to make sure that you have enough migration time.
If your notice period has already passed, your license will be renewed regularly and terminated at the end of the subsequent period. However, you can cancel this renewal until the last day of the current subscription if you do not want to continue with Boxcryptor.
You can cancel your license directly in our webapp
. Boxcryptor Company and Enterprise customers can contact their account manager by mail.What Happens When the Cancellation Period Is Over?
When the cancellation period is over, the corresponding accounts will be locked and the connected devices will be disconnected. 30 days later, all data and keys stored with us will be deleted. Please make sure that you have decrypted your data and exported your keys by the end of the cancellation period. The process is simple, you can find instructions for migrating your data here
.Frequently Asked QuestionsI am a customer. Can I use Boxcryptor on a new device?
Yes. The download option is still available on our website until all licenses are expired. If you have an existing account, you can still log in, even on new devices.Will security updates be available?
Yes. We will provide security-critical updates so that you can continue to use Boxcryptor with the usual high level of security until the end of your contract period.Can I continue to use Boxcryptor for teams?
Yes, if you are currently using Boxcryptor for Teams with a Company or Enterprise license, you can continue to do so under the existing license. The functionality of the software will not change.